Have Yourself A Little Christmas Romance

Opening my first advent calendar from Hotel Chocolat reminds me of the first time I heard “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”, sung by my idol and inspiration Christina Aguilera.

There is something very romantic about Christmas. Maybe it’s the weather (curling up on the couch underneath a soft duvet while watching all sorts of stuff on TV), maybe it’s the lights (colours have a profound effect on our mood), or maybe it’s just the mistletoes everywhere!

Christmas is my absolutely favourite time of the year. I love Christmas tunes from the classic “O Holy Night” to the more contemporary “Driving Home For Christmas”. Most of all, I adore the romantic ones and “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” fits right up my alley. The chords and melody are so well-written that no matter who sings it – whether it’d be a country singer with a guitar or a soul singer with their blues – the peacefulness and intimacy remains.

Here’s Aguilera’s duet performance with Brian McKnight – it doesn’t get better than this! And…time to pop open that first chocolate of December!

Leave a Reply

